For many people who have been involved in an auto accident for the first time, it can be confusing to know whether or not you need to hire an attorney. When it comes to all the details, deadlines and other important information, attorneys can help guide the way.
As an extension of our previous article—Why You Need a Personal Injury Attorney Now—this blog aims to expand on the importance of having a lawyer by your side to make sure you meet all the important deadlines necessary for your claim. Here are a few reasons why hiring a lawyer right away can help with these deadlines:
In some states, including the state of Florida, it’s a requirement that every driver and vehicle owner has at least $10,000 worth of personal injury protection (or “PIP”) insurance coverage. This coverage can include everything from medical expenses and lost wages to rehabilitation expenses and more. Injured victims (that are not at fault) can get up to 80% of medical bills covered by automobile insurance carriers (up to a max of $10,000) only if medical treatment is sought out within 14 days and if the injuries can be classified as an emergency medical condition. If this deadline is not met, victims will not be eligible for receiving any money for their damages.
Florida’s Statue of Limitations
In the state of Florida, the statute of limitations is four years for injuries and property damages that are related to auto accidents and if your claim qualifies as a “serious injury” accident. In cases where someone is filing a suit against a city, county or state government, the statute of limitations is three years. If filing a wrongful death claim against the other driver, the time limit to file is two years after the incident. This is important to remember for those who are unsure of whether or not they should file a claim (even if they are not at fault, but are still seeking medical treatment on their own), or if they need professional assistance while mourning the loss of a loved one